Select your language

Malaysia Day is a celebration that is held on 16 September every year to commemorate the establishment of the Malaysian Federation or the merging of Malaya, North Borneo (now known as Sabah), Sarawak as well as Singapore (seceded the Malaysian Federation in 1965) to form Malaysia in 1963. This day is not to be confused with the Independence Day which commemorates on 31 August 1957. Malaysia Day was declared a public holiday in 2010, giving Malaysians two celebrations related to the country’s independence.

The formation of Malaysia was made possible with the signing of the establishment of the Federation of Malaysia Agreement by the representatives of the British government, the Federation of Malaya, North Borneo (Sabah), Sarawak and Singapore on 9 July 1963 to form Malaysia on 31 August 1963. However, due to several issues during that time Malaysia was eventually declared on 16 September 1963.

The declaration of Malaysia ceremony was held at Stadium Merdeka, Kuala Lumpur on 17 September 1963, where the Prime Minister Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra Al-Haj recited the formation of Malaysia Declaration in front of 30,000 people of all races followed by his chanting “Merdeka” seven times. Thus, a new nation was born, Malaysia.

See our Brief History Video regarding Sabah and the formation of Malaysia.




Our Local Authors

Quote of The Day

"Reading fiction is important. It is a vital means of imagining a life other than our own, which in turn makes us more empathetic beings. Following complex story lines stretches our brains beyond the 140 characters of sound-bite thinking, and staying within the world of a novel gives us the ability to be quiet and alone, two skills that are disappearing faster than the polar icecaps." – Ann Patchett

Headquarters Opening Hours

Closed on Public Holidays, Except for Tanjung Aru Library Branch

088-214828, 231623 Fax: 088-270151
Jalan Tasik, Off Jalan Maktab Gaya, Locked Bag 2023, 88300 Luyang, Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia.